Even purging the Steam client from my computer & deleting the .steam folder from my home directory, does not seem to reset this option to off. I would have to build a time machine and stop myself from flicking it on in the past. Valve have really outdone themselves. And this issue is considerably older than this bug report, BTW. Just another bug that has been allowed to go unfixed despite its pretty serious usability consequences for customers whose computers do not support Proton well or at all
steamclosed
Even purging the Steam client from my computer & deleting the .steam folder from my home directory, does not seem to reset this option to off. I would have to build a time machine and stop myself from flicking it on in the past. Valve have really outdone themselves. And this issue is considerably older than this bug report, BTW. Just another bug that has been allowed to be relegated into a backlog and go unfixed despite its pretty serious usability consequences for customers whose computers do not support Proton well or at all
_Originally posted by @flamming-python in https://github.com/ValveSoftware/steam-for-linux/issues/9957#issuecomment-1876203351_