protonscr

Shared Community Controller Layouts should be updatable

steamopen Feature RequestSteam clientDistro Family: SteamOSGeneral controller / Steam Input
ValveSoftware/steam-for-linux#9440 · opened 2023-05-02 by Khillynn · updated 2024-06-04 · 7 comments · github
KKhillynn 2023-05-02 github

Your system information

Steam Deck

  • Steam client version: 1682708537
  • SteamOS version: 3.4.6
  • Opted into Steam client beta?: No
  • Opted into SteamOS beta?: No
  • Have you checked for updates in Settings > System?: Yes

Please describe your issue in as much detail as possible:

On the Steam Deck after editing a controller layout I’ve previously shared with the community, I expect to be able to update that layout. I know that feature exists for personal layouts but something similar should also exist for community layouts.

Related Steam community discussion which includes screenshots: https://steamcommunity.com/app/1675200/discussions/1/3727324491577905613/

Steps for reproducing this issue:

  1. Create a control layout on the Steam Deck.
  2. Share that layout with the community.
  3. Edit that newly created layout.
  4. When saving either by clicking the “share layout with community” or “export layout” buttons, observe lack of update button for existing shared community layout.
Kkisak-valve maintainer 2023-05-02 github

Hello @Khillynn, managing and sharing controller layouts is an element of the Steam client, not SteamOS as a platform, so I've transferred this issue report to the steam-for-linux issue tracker.

Ssaiki-k 2023-06-22 github

Just came here to say that I wholeheartedly agree with Khillyn. The community controller layouts should be editable/deletable by their respective authors.

Bbillw1 2023-09-13 github

This is a bad idea... If you are using someone else's shared config, they can just randomly push an update that breaks it or adds unwanted changes? Why would that ever be implemented?

KKhillynn 2023-09-13 github

This is a bad idea... If you are using someone else's shared config, they can just randomly push an update that breaks it or adds unwanted changes? Why would that ever be implemented?

Like any other update it could be an opt in update or stay on the outdated version. Currently the only option to update the community layout you created is to make a duplicate save or delete the one you uploaded and upload the new one. Having to create duplicate copies with minor updates is confusing and clogs up the community layouts. Deleting the outdated one doesn’t sound like a good idea for those using it and would remove stats for the layout, plus if you did want to keep updates from the layout creator you’d be left behind with a non existent community layout.

YYoreonX 2023-11-29 github

This is a bad idea... If you are using someone else's shared config, they can just randomly push an update that breaks it or adds unwanted changes? Why would that ever be implemented?

You can choose not to update?

The same way you can choose not to override your local save with a cloud save.

Modern Problems & Modern Solutions!

Ddavisjc 2024-01-06 github

Any update on this? This feature sounds great.

Ttkeene 2024-06-04 github

This also affects me. I have one typo in the description I uploaded, now how am I supposed to delete it?

Nothing extracted yet.